Connect with us


2024 Cannes Film Festival Winners List



After two weeks of nonstop cinema, the second of fact lastly arrived. The winners of the 77th Cannes Movie Competition had been introduced at a gala ceremony on Saturday night time.

The Palme d’Or, the fest’s high honor, went to Sean Baker‘s sex worker screwball comedy Anora. A nervous and shaking Baker took the stage and thanked the jury, saying he still “couldn’t consider it.” Baker mentioned successful Cannes’ high prize has been “my singular goal as a filmmaker for the past 30 years.”

Baker additionally singled out Francis Ford Coppola and David Cronenberg, two veteran administrators with movies in Cannes competitors this 12 months, as main inspirations. Baker has come far, going from taking pictures his 2015 characteristic Tangerine on an iPhone5s to successful the Palme d’Or. He’s the primary American director to win the Palme since Terrence Malick for The Tree of Life in 2011.

Commenting on the jury’s resolution, jury president Greta Gerwig mentioned Anora had “something that reminded us of a classic, there were structures of Lubitsch and Howard Hawks. It did something truthful and unexpected.”

Anora is the fifth Neon movie in a row to win Cannes’ high prize, following Anatomy of a Fall, Triangle of Disappointment, Titane and Parasite. Neon hasn’t but set a U.S. launch date but for the film, however count on the distributor to launch it in early October, as they’ve for his or her earlier Palme winners, a slot that has confirmed profitable each for awards season and on the field workplace.

The Grand Prix, introduced in a shock look by Viola Davis, went to Payal Kapadia’s All We Think about As Gentle, the primary Indian movie to play in Cannes competitors since 1994.

Kapadia used her acceptance speech to specific solidarity with the employees on the Cannes movie competition who’ve been struggling for higher working circumstances and displayed her pink “Sous les écrans la dèche” button, from the collective representing freelance staff on the competition. The employees have been protesting all through this 12 months’s competition. Kapadia mentioned the values that drive her as a filmmaker are “solidarity and empathy” and singled out the “many people who work behind the scenes at the festival, they have done a magnificent job, it is thanks to them the festival exists” earlier than holding up her Sous les écrans button.

Iranian political melodrama The Seed of the Sacred Fig from dissident director Mohammad Rasoulof, who fled Iran simply weeks earlier than the competition, obtained a particular award from the jury.

The feminine stars of Jacques Audiard’s gender-transitioning Mexican crime musical Emilia Pérez (Adriana Paz, Zoe Saldaña, Selena Gomez and titular lead Karla Sofía Gascón) received greatest actress, with Gascón turning into the primary trans actress to win in Cannes. Emilia Pérez additionally obtained the jury prize.

“Women together — that’s something we wanted to honor when we made this award,” mentioned Gerwig. “Each of them is a standout, but together transcendent.”

Jesse Plemons received greatest actor for his function in Sorts of Kindness, Yorgos Lanthimos’ anthology movie that re-teamed him together with his Poor Issues stars Emma Stone and Willem Dafoe. The Civil Struggle and Energy of the Canine actor performs three roles in Lanthimos’ weird surrealistic triptych: A submissive businessman, a grieving police officer and a bisexual cult member.

This has been a divisive Cannes and there was no clear frontrunner going into this 12 months’s awards. Just a few motion pictures — together with All We Think about as Gentle and The Seed of the Sacred Fig — have been universally embraced by critics.

Most have divided audiences. Coppola’s Megalopolis, starring Adam Driver, was each extensively panned and selectively celebrated. Emilia Pérez was hailed by most as a masterpiece however left some critics chilly.

Baker’s Anora was lauded by U.S. critics however dismissed by many in Europe as too mainstream for Cannes competitors. Andrea Arnold’s Hen, a working-class melodrama with fantastical components, equally drew each reward and pans in nearly equal measure. The Substance, from French director Coralie Fargeat and starring Demi Moore, Margaret Qualley and Dennis Quaid, was hailed as a masterpiece and dismissed as an unoriginal replace on David Cronenberg-esque physique horror. Cronenberg’s new movie, The Shrouds, additionally in competitors, didn’t a lot divide critics as go away them underwhelmed, with most calling the film a muted model of acquainted themes from the veteran Canadian filmmaker.

Ali Abbasi’s Donald Trump film The Apprentice, which appears at how the previous U.S. president was formed by his tutelage underneath cutthroat lawyer Roy Cohn (Sebastian Stan performs Trump, Jeremy Sturdy is Cohn), obtained probably the most press consideration, significantly after Trump’s attorneys despatched a stop and desist order to the filmmakers, attempting to stop the film from being bought within the U.S. However Abbasi’s considerably typical biopic strategy, and what some have seen as an excessively sympathetic tackle Trump’s early years, didn’t go over nicely with some critics.

One filmmaker everybody can agree on is George Lucas, who obtained an honorary Palme d’Or in the course of the ceremony, for his contribution to cinema, from his first characteristic, THX-1138, which premiered in Cannes’ Administrators’ Fortnight part again in 1971, to the Star Wars and Indiana Jones franchises. Lucas was introduced with the honorary Palme by his outdated buddy Coppola, who he known as “a big brother and mentor” upon receiving the award.

“I came here today to thank you all,” mentioned Lucas. “I’m just a kid who grew up in the middle of California, surrounded by vineyards and made films in San Francisco with my friend Francis Coppola. So we spent our entire careers in parallel, and in San Francisco in particular. In fact, I’ve never made a Hollywood film as a director. So it’s a great honor to be here. I can tell you that.”

A full record of winners follows:

Palme d’Or

Sean Baker, Anora

Grand Prix

All We Think about As Gentle

Jury Prize

Emilia Pérez

Greatest Director

Miguel Gomes, Grand Tour

Greatest Screenplay

Coralie Fargeat, The Substance

Greatest Actress

Adriana Paz, Zoe Saldaña, Karla Sofía Gascón, Selena Gomez, Emilia Pérez

Greatest Actor

Jesse Plemons, Sorts of Kindness

Honorary Palme d’Or

George Lucas

Particular Award

Mohammad Rasoulof, The Seed of the Sacred Fig

Digicam d’Or for Greatest First Movie

Halfdan Ullman Tondel, Armand

Palme d’Or for Greatest Brief Movie

Nebojsa Slijepcevic, The Man Who Might Not Stay Silent

This story was initially printed at 9:42 a.m. on Could 25.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *