Connect with us


Anna Sawai, Hiroyuki Sanada & More



“Shōgun” is formally within the drama race for the Primetime Emmys.

FX has confirmed that the as soon as restricted or anthology collection heavyweight has been formally submitted and accepted within the drama classes, the place it’s going to compete towards Netflix’s “The Crown,” Apple’s “The Morning Show” and Prime Video’s “Fallout.” As well as, the community has shared completely with Selection the whole checklist of 40 Emmy submissions, which incorporates six submissions for steering, 4 for writing, and two eligible visitor actors. HBO’s “Game of Thrones” at the moment holds the file for many nominations in a single 12 months with 32. May FX break the monumental file?

Following the announcement that FX, Hulu, and the property of James Clavell — who authored the novel — are engaged on creating extra seasons of the critically acclaimed collection, “Shōgun” is now formally eligible to compete within the drama races after being commissioned as restricted. The transfer places the present among the many prime contenders to garner probably the most nominations on this 12 months’s Emmys race.

Shogun” Unique Artwork
Courtesy of Katie Yu/FX

“Shōgun” follows a shipwrecked English sailor, performed by Cosmo Jarvis, within the seventeenth century who turns into concerned in a bloody energy wrestle on the highest ranges of the Japanese authorities. Hiroyuki Sanada, who produces and stars as Lord Yoshii Toranaga, portrays a ruling Council of Regents member who should battle for survival when the political tides flip towards him. The primary season additionally starred Anna Sawai, Tadanobu Asano, Hiroto Kanai, Takehiro Hira, Moeka Hoshi, Tokuma Nishioka, Shinnosuke Abe, Yuki Kura, Yuka Kouri and Fumi Nikaido.

This 12 months, the restricted collection race is fiercely aggressive, sparking widespread panic amongst networks and awards strategists concerning the few obtainable slots. The vacating of “Shōgun” provides wanted boosts to exhibits corresponding to “Baby Reindeer” from Netflix, “Fellow Travelers” from Showtime, and its FX sibling collection “Fargo.”

Learn: All Primetime Emmy predictions in each class on Selection’s Awards Circuit.

Within the drama panorama, Jarvis and Sanada are poised for lead drama actor nominations, injecting recent power right into a class that was begging for pleasure, with pundits divided between Gary Oldman (“Slow Horses”) and Dominic West (“The Crown”), each of whom have by no means obtained nods for his or her roles. Sanada may make historical past, changing into the second Asian actor nominated after Lee Jung-Jae, who received for “Squid Game” in 2022.

Sawai, portraying the dutiful translator Toda Mariko, strikes to the forefront within the lead drama actress class, contending towards Jennifer Aniston and Reese Witherspoon (“The Morning Show”), Oscar laureate Emma Stone (“The Curse”), and Imelda Staunton (“The Crown”). Her exceptional efficiency, particularly in episode 9, is the kind of work that’s laborious to disregard.

The supporting actors Asano and Nikaido, along with their co-stars Hira, Nishioka, Hoshi and Kouri, ought to comfortably match into their respective classes. Nonetheless, the gifted ensemble will now produce two extra attainable nominations for visitor stars Néstor Carbonell and Yûko Miyamoto, which is able to probably beef up the potential nomination tally.

The total checklist of FX’s submissions is beneath. Nomination-round voting begins on June 13.

  • Excellent Drama Collection
  • Directing for a drama collection — Jonathan Van Tulleken (Episode 101: “Anjin”); Charlotte Brändström (Episode 103: “Tomorrow is Tomorrow”); Hiromi Kamata (Episode 106: “Ladies of the Willow World”); Takeshi Fukunaga (Episode 107: “A Stick of Time”); Emmanuel Osei-Kuffour, Jr. (Episode 108: “The Abyss of Life”); Frederick E.O. Toye (Episode 109: “Crimson Sky”)
  • Writing for a Drama Collection — Rachel Kondo, Justin Marks (Episode 101: “Anjin”); Matt Lambert (Episode 105: “Broken to the Fist”); Shannon Goss (Episode 108: “The Abyss of Life”); Rachel Kondo, Caillin Puente (Episode 109: “Crimson Sky”), Maegan Houang, Emily Yoshida (Episode 110: “A Dream of a Dream”)
  • Manufacturing Design for a Narrative Interval or Fantasy Program (One Hour or Extra) — Helen Jarvis (manufacturing designer, Episode 101: “Anjin”)
  • Cinematography for a Collection (One Hour) — Christopher Ross (director of images, Episode 101: “Anjin”), Sam McCurdy (director of images, Episode 109: “Crimson Sky”)
  • Casting for a Drama Collection — Laura Schiff, Carrie Audino (casting by), Kei Kawamura (Japan casting), Maureen Webb, Colleen Bolton (Canadian casting)
  • Lead Actor in a Drama Collection — Cosmo Jarvis, Hiroyuki Sanada
  • Lead Actress in a Drama Collection — Anna Sawai
  • Supporting Actor in a Drama Collection — Tadanobu Asano, Takehiro Hira, Tokuma Nishioka
  • Supporting Actress in a Drama Collection — Fumi Nikaido, Moeka Hoshi, Yuka Kouri
  • Visitor Actor in a Drama Collection — Néstor Carbonell (Episode 101: “Anjin”)
  • Visitor Actress in a Drama Collection — Yûko Miyamoto (Episode 107: “A Stick of Time”)
  • Interval and/or Fantasy Sci-Fi Hairstyling — Sanna Kaarina Seppanen (hair designer, Episode 107: “A Stick of Time”)
  • Interval and/or Fantasy Sci-Fi Make-up (Non-Prosthetic) — Rebecca Lee (make-up designer, Episode 108: “The Abyss of Life”)
  • Prosthetic Make-up — Toby Lindala (particular make-up results division head, Episode 10: “A Dream of a Dream”)
  • Interval Costumes — Carlos Rosario (costume designer, Episode 106: “Ladies of the Willow World”)
  • Foremost Title Design
  • Image Enhancing for a Drama Collection — Maria Gonzales, Aika Miyake (editors, Episode 10: “A Dream of a Dream”)
  • Particular Sivusl Results in a Season or a Film — Michael Cliett (general visible results supervisor)
  • Music Composition for a Collection (Unique Dramatic Rating) — Atticus Ross, Leopold Ross, Nick Chuba (music by, Episode 102: “Servants of Two Masters”)
  • Unique Foremost Title Theme Music — Atticus Ross, Leopold Ross, Nick Chuba (fundamental title theme by)
  • Sound Enhancing for a Comedy or Drama Collection (One Hour) — Brian J. Armstrong (supervising sound editor, Episode 105: “Broken to the Fist”)
  • Sound Mixing for a Comedy or Drama Collection (One Hour) — Steve Pederson, Greg P. Russell (re-recording mixers), Michael Williamson (manufacturing mixer), Episode 105: “Broken to the Fist”
  • Stunt Coordination for Drama Programming — Lauro Chartrand-Delvalle
  • Stunt Efficiency — Hiroo Minami, Nobuyuki Obikane, Martin Cochingco, Johnson Phan (stunt performer, Episode 104: “The Eightfold Fence”)

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *