Connect with us


‘Couples Therapy’ Submits for Structured Reality Category at Emmys



Showtime has efficiently petitioned the Tv Academy to modify its Emmy submission for the acclaimed docuseries “Couples Therapy” to excellent structured actuality program, Selection has discovered completely.

Throughout its two earlier seasons, the sequence had been supplied within the unstructured actuality class, the place it competed with exhibits resembling Nationwide Geographic’s “Life Below Zero,” TLC’s “90 Day Fiancé” and Hulu’s “The Kardashians.” Nonetheless, it didn’t obtain recognition throughout its respective years. Notably, the present did win a serious prize from the Tv Critics Affiliation (TCA) Award in 2021 for excellent achievement in actuality programming.

Learn: Selection’s Awards Circuit for the newest Emmy predictions in all classes.

“Couples Therapy” follows Dr. Orna Guralnik, a world-renowned psychologist and psychoanalyst, as she guides {couples} via real-life remedy classes. This second installment of the third season follows 4 {couples}, with all 9 episodes premiering on the Showtime app on April 28.

Along with the excellent actuality program class, the cable community has additionally put the present up for consideration for excellent cinematography (Armaan Virani), directing (Joshua Altman and Bennett Elliott) and movie modifying for an unstructured actuality program (Delaney Lynch, Helen Kearnes and Katrina Taylor).

The documentary authentic is the newest in a sequence of exhibits which have sought approval from the TV Academy to maneuver classes. Meals Community’s “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives” satisfied the TV Academy to maneuver from hosted nonfiction to structured actuality, the place it should face Netflix hits resembling “Love is Blind” and “Queer Eye,” along with Showtime’s “Couples.” Lately, Apple was denied by the TV Academy to modify its musical-comedy “Schmigadoon!” into the scripted selection race.

“Couples Therapy” is produced by Matt Parker and Bennett Elliott, with Eli Despres, Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg and Vinnie Malhotra serving as government producers and Kim Roberts and Maya Seidler as co-executive producers.

Submissions for this yr’s Emmys are due on Could 9, with nomination voting opening on June 15.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *